Qualifying for Hospice Care

A patient may receive hospice care when they meet the following qualifications:
  1. The patient must be eligible for Medicare Part A (Hospital Insurance), Medicaid, or a private insurance.
  2. The primary doctor and the hospice medical director certify that the patient has a terminal illness.
  3. The patient or the patient’s power of attorney (POA) or next of kin signs a statement choosing hospice care instead of treating their illness.
  4. The patient needs to receive hospice care from a Medicare and Medicaid approved hospice program (Medicare, Medicaid, and most private insurance will still pay for covered benefits for any health problems that are not related to your hospice diagnosis).


Qualifying hospice conditions may include the following:
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
  • Stroke/Coma
  • Diabetes
  • Cancer
  • Liver Disease
  • Renal Disease
  • Dementia
  • Pulmonary Disease
  • Neuromuscular Disease
  • Heart Disease
  • HIV Disease
  • Multiple Sclerosis (MS)